Anime Review 2.0 Kodomo no Omocha (TV). Kodocha. Child’s Toy. (Most underrated romcom anime?)

FeaturedAnime Review 2.0 Kodomo no Omocha (TV). Kodocha. Child’s Toy. (Most underrated romcom anime?)

Ever wanted a great romcom series, a romcom series that don’t have an inferior second half, a romcom series that a good ending, a romcom series that has amazing character development and theme exploration well you came to the right place because Kodomo no Omocha is not only one of the best romcom shoujo series I have ever seen but this series contains everything that I love about romcom anime

Hello everyone this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome to my review of Kodomo no Omocha and with that out-of-the-way let’s begin.

Story.

tumblr_m5iy4jqd2v1qcyhgro1_1280

The story of Kodocha no Omocha centers around Sana Kurata who is a star of a popular TV show called child’s toy while being in 5th grade. One originally day at school as she goes into class the boys in her class are rising hell. They ringleader of the group Akio has counted they teacher into silence in some sort of blackmail. So, the boys are free to reach havoc as they please. Very determined to lead a normal school life Sana targets the ring leader Akio with all of her energy and.

Now what do I think of the story of Kodocha. The story of Kodocha is executed perfectly. The story starts off as a very simple boy’s vs girl’s rivalry but as the series progresses it story become surprisingly complex and it becomes a great coming of age story.

One thing that I really like about Kodocha is ability to synergies its comedy and romance elements. You see most anime romcoms that I personally seen don’t synergies its comedy and romance elements correctly because shows like Nisekoi and Golden Time don’t have any substance on the romcom elements and instead those shows fall at writing and character building.

Kodocha doesn’t suffer from any those problems because the show knows how to use each genre element in an appropriate manner. Speaking of the comedy the comedy in Kodocha is just amazing because not only there are funny and original but execution and the timing for the jokes are flawless. Kodocha might be one of the funniest anime I have ever.

The pacing of Kodocha is great for the most part. It knows hows to pace itself from certain arcs and scenes and to be honest you will never get bored when watching this show.

 If I have any complaints for the pacing I would say the one of the arcs in the second half of the show was kinda draggy. I personally liked that arc in the term of character development of a certain character and heavy theme but some of the content that happens in that arc drags on way too long for its own good. If you guys want to know what arc am talking about it’s the New York arc of season 2 and this was the weakest arc in the terms of pacing, length and at times content of not being that great

Surprisingly Kodocha explores really hard-hitting themes and topics as child abuse, divorced parents, teenage pregnancy, homelessness, and adoption and those themes are explored in a very mature way to the point there the viewer can sympathize with the characters. Also, when those themes are explored the show goes into a different tone that is suitable for those themes and this show knows to use its tone correctly.]

snapshot201007040031052

Story wise Kodocha is almost flawless.

Kodocha is an anime that will make you laugh, cry, happy and it will keep you edge to your seats from to finish with great plot twist, great and interesting arcs and good pacing

Overall the story of Kodocha is wonderful and its one of the best coming of age stories I have ever seen.

9/10

Characters.

tumblr_na4012qe6c1tiaiz8o1_1280

Like with the story the characters of Kodocha are really great. Even better than the story at times.

snapshot201007040237542

Sana Kurata is an 11-year-old cute redheaded TV film star girl with an uncontrollably hyper and active personality.

Sana is just an amazing character. She starts off a simply uncontrollably hyper character with a lot of passion but as the series progresses she becomes an amazing multi-dimensional character with lots of emotion and depth. Sana is a perfect example of flawed charterer. She’s a character is who is not used to emotions and tragic and every time when facing reality of life, she will just sing a song so she can keep her positive outlook on life and upbeat attitude in intact. This obviously later on back fires on her because people will eventually exploit her flaw and Sana eventually has to face reality.

This is why I love Sana much because is a very well written female lead that has substance and overall she is very enjoyable to watch.

Overall Sana Kurata is an amazing character and she became one of my favourite female characters of all time.

akito_hayama_x_male_reader_pt_2_by_k_chann-d8jp4hs

Next up we have Akio. I personally really like this character Like Sana he is a multi-dimensional character who is realistically flawed in his own right. Not to mention I really adored his character development from start to finish. I honestly wish I can talk more about Akio but if I did it will be lead to heavy spoilers and to be honest with you all this is one of those anime you don’t want spoiled

The rest of the characters are also really great and well fleshed out.

We got the level-headed Tsuyoushi, the highly energetic Fuka, the charming, Naozumi the bizarre Misako to the loyal Rei.

This character cast is now personally my favorite anime cast in a romcom anime. There are all really fun and likeable to watch and seeing them grow as people, interact with each other and dealing with romance issues is just great.

The only character I wasn’t a fan is Babbit. I will admit Babbitt is funny mascot character but sometimes he breaks the forth wall a bit too much for my liking.

Besides that, very minor nitpick Overall I really adore this character cast and it now one of my favorite cast in any anime.

11/10

Art/Animation.

tumblr_mwlnr58z541t1229qo1_500

Visually of Kodomo no Omocha has surprisingly has aged well. Studio Gallop really did a great job on the charterers designs, character moment, and the backgrounds. It totally has aged well and for a 1023-episode series that is really impressive. One of the best-looking anime from the 90s in my opinion.

Oh, yeah I have no complaints with the visuals.

tumblr_n4ztmxlwji1sy5tzqo1_400

9.5/10

Sound.

8fe1c5d981294e5497e1a700ac9f97a5

Like with the visuals the soundtrack is honestly great and well executed because for some reason there wasn’t a dull track whatsoever and all of the tracks fit the tone of the series perfectly. My favorite track from this Always be with you because I feel its adds the emotion and impact of the certain scenes. One of the best inserts songs I ever heard in my opinion

Both openings of Kodocha are really good catchy and they really fit the mood and the tone of the show. I personally prefer opening 2 over opening 1.

The ending themes on the other hand are kinda of a mix bag. The first ending theme is very good and it gives that satisfied feel you finish a Kodocha episode. Not to mention it’s very catchy to the eye.

The second ending on the other hand is honestly dull as hell and in my opinion it kinda feels out-of-place. I honestly wished they keep using the first ending theme.

Now for dub or sub.

sanaandheryackback

Both are honestly amazing. All of the actors in both dub and sub really did a great performance in the they roles.

If i have to say what version is better. I would say the sub is better because one the voice quality is great and I really adored Shizue Oda as Sana more than Laura Bailey as Sana. Not to mention the dub cuts off after episode 51.

Overall the soundtrack is great, the openings were nice the ending themes were fine and both sub and dub are really good.

8/10

Final Thoughts.

tumblr_mrlhojswkr1qg653uo1_500

I really adored this anime.

It has everything that I love about romcom. The story is amazing, has great pacing, wonderful theme exploration and its handled in the very mature way. great and well-developed character that is relatable to the viewer. Visuals that have aged well, a great soundtrack besides the second ending theme and great performances for both language.

I hardly have anything bad to say about Kodocha to be honest besides from the minor nitpick that I have with the character mascot called babbitt and the New York arc being kinda weak in the terms of pacing and length. Even tho I personally enjoyed that arc in the terms of theme exploration and character development

Kodocha no Omocha is a romcom anime done right and it’s easily one of the best romcom anime I have ever seen period.

If you want to a good romcom series with amazing characterisation, well done romance and great theme exploration that is handled maturely.  Go watch Kodocha. You won’t regret it.

kodocha_001_1024x768

I give Kodocha No Omocha a 9/10. (Romcom anime done right)

Sadly, Kodocha hasn’t been licensed in the UK by any UK dvd studio but it was once available by Funmation in USA before going out of print.

I hope Kodocha gets re-licensed someday

Anime recommendations.

Marmalade Boy

Toradora

Kare Kano

Gakuen Alice

Excel Saga

Lovely Complex

Full Moon Wo Satagshite

Kaleido Star

Anyway, this was Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and I will see you guys next time.

tumblr_n2jrskvg411tvkopio1_500

God I love these two so much :))))

One of the best couples I have ever seen.

tumblr_n2n6vh9apz1snobdco1_500

Featured

Welcome To My Profile

Hey Everyone. I am an aspiring Anime Reviewer, who will mostly be writing full length in a regular bases of anime that I feel like talking about.

Feel free to check out MyAnimeList Profile as well as my Hummingbird but I don’t update my HB regularly. Feel free to add me as a friend. I would love to have a anime discussion with you.

Lastly my Facebook and my Tumblr pages .

“I need to be faster” Kazemaru Ichirouta. Inazuma Eleven.

mosaic8e566492f7ac46199bf1f323115782171c39f6a1

Top 15 Romcom anime.

Top 15 Romcom anime.

Hello everyone this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome to my next anime countdown.

In this list I will be presenting you romcom (Romantic Comedy) animes that you should watch at some point.

Note I have not seen every romcom in this list and the only reason why I even put those romcom anime that I haven’t seen because I simply heard great things about them and I am very interested ofwatching them in the future.

With that out the way let’s begin with this list.

eb6e1af308295950569acb0e81c59fadfce93e38_hq

15. Hana yori Dango (Boys Over Flowers).

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Aired: Sep 8, 1996 too Aug 31, 1997
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Makino Tsukushi, a girl whom comes from a poor family, just wants too get through her two last years at Eitoku Gakuen quietly. But once she makes herself known by standing up for her friend too the F4, the four most popular, powerful, and rich boys at the school, she gets the red card: F4’s way of a “Declaration of War.” But when she doesn’t let herself be beaten by them and are starting too fall for one of the F4, Hanazawa Rui, she starts too see that theyre are more than meets the eye…
thumb-1920-541805
Type:TV
Episodes: 13
Aired: Jul 8, 2012 too Sep 30, 2012
Licencors:Sentai Filmworks USA/ MVM Entertainment UK
Studios:Silver Link.
Source: Light novel

Synopsis

When five students at Yamaboshi Academy realize that theyre are no clubs where they fit in, they band together too form the Student Cultural Society, or “StuCS” for short. The club consists of: Taichi Yaegashi, a hardcore wrestling fan; Iori Nagase, an indecisive optimist; Himeko Inaba, a calm computer genius; Yui Kiriyama, a petite karate practitioner; and Yoshifumi Aoki, the class clown.

One day, Aoki and Yui experience a strange incident when, without warning, they switch bodies for a short period of time. As this supernatural phenomenon continues too occur randomly amongst the five friends, they begin too realize that it are not just fun and games. Now forced too become closer than ever, they soon discover each other’s hidden secrets and emotional scars, which could end up tearing the StuCS and there friendship apart.

shigatsu-wa-kimi-no-uso-episode-1-10
Type:TV
Episodes: 22
Aired: Oct 10, 2014 too Mar 20, 2015
Licensors:Aniplex of America USA, Anime Limted UK.
Studios:A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Music accompanies the path of the human metronome, the prodigious pianist Kousei Arima. But after the passing of his mother, Saki Arima, Kousei falls into a downward spiral, rendering him unable too hear the sound of his own piano.

Two years later, Kousei still avoids the piano, leaving behind his admirers and rivals, and lives a colorless life alongside his friends Tsubaki Sawabe and Ryouta Watari. However, everything changes when he meets a beautiful violinist, Kaori Miyazono, whom stirs up his world and sets him on a journey too face music again.

kaichou-wa-maid-sama-full-306355
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Aired: Apr 2, 2010 too Sep 24, 2010
Licensors:Sentai Filmworks, MVM Entertainment UK
Studios:J.C.Staff
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Genres:Comedy, Romance, School, Being the first female student council president isn’t easy, especially when youre school just transitioned from an all boys high school too a co-ed one. Aptly nicknamed “Demon President” by the boys for her strict disciplinary style, Misaki Ayuzawa are not afraid too use her mastery of Aikido techniques too cast judgment onto the hordes of misbehaving boys and defend the girls at Seika High School.

Yet even the perfect Ayuzawa has an embarrassing secret—she works part-time as a maid at a maid café too help her struggling family pay the bills. She has managed too keep her job hidden from her fellow students and maintained her flawless image as a stellar student until one day, Takumi Usui, the most popular boy in school, walks into the maid café. He could destroy her reputation with her secret… or he could twist the student council president around his little finger and use her secret as an opportunity too get closer too her.

fruits_basket_02_1024x768
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Aired: Jul 5, 2001 too Dec 27, 2001
Licensors:FUNimation Entertainment USA/MVM Entertainment UK
Studios:Studio Deen
Source: Manga

Synopsis

After the accident in which she lost her mother, 16-year-old Tooru moves in with her grandfather, but due too his home being renovated, are unable too continue living with him. Claiming she will find someone too stay with but also fearing the criticism of her family and not wanting too burden any of her friends, Tooru resorts too secretly living on her own in a tent in the woods.

One night on her way back from work, she finds her tent buried underneath a landslide. Yuki Souma, the “prince” of her school, and his cousin Shigure Souma, a famous author, stumble across Tooru’s situation and invite her too stay with them until her grandfather’s home renovations are complete.

Upon arriving at the Souma house, Tooru discovers there secret: if a Souma are hugged by someone of the opposite gender, they temporarily transform into one of the animals of the zodiac! However, this strange phenomenon are no laughing matter; rather, it are a terrible curse that holds a dark history. As she continues her journey, meeting more members of the zodiac family, will Tooru’s kindhearted yet resilient nature be enough too prepare her for what lies behind the Souma household’s doors?

Kamisama.Hajimemashita.full.1079917.jpg
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Aired: Oct 2, 2012 too Dec 25, 2012/  Jan 6, 2015 too Mar 31, 2015
Licensors:FUNimation Entertainment USA/ MVM Entertainment UK
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Nanami Momozono and her familiars Tomoe and Mizuki have survived quite a few challenges since Nanami took up the mantle of Mikage Shrine’s patron god. Naturally, the wind god Otohiko comes too invite Nanami too the Divine Assembly in Izumo, the home of the gods, and Nanami chooses too take Mizuki with her, leaving Tomoe too pose as her at school. However, she has an ulterior motive for attending the Divine Assembly: too discover the whereabouts of the missing Lord Mikage, the former god of the shrine.

After her adventures in Izumo, Nanami meets Botanmaru, a tengu child looking for someone she knows all too, well—tengu turned goth idol Shinjirou Kurama. Botanmaru needs Shinjirou, there prince, too return home too Mount Kurama and stop the tyranny of Jirou, whom has taken over the rule of there hometown. However, Nanami soon discovers a force much darker than Jirou are at work on the mountain.

As a fledgling god becoming more accustomed too divinity, Nanami finds herself dealing with a tengu rebellion, her blooming feelings for Tomoe, and a strange man with ties too both Tomoe’s past and Nanami’s future.

yukino_and_yui___oregairu_by_infinitydragon23-d8njqut.jpg
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Aired: Apr 5, 2013 too Jun 28, 2013
Licensors:Sentai Filmworks USA/ Animatsu Entertainment UK
Studios:Brain’s Base/feel.
Source: Light novel

Synopsis

Hachiman Hikigaya are an apathetic high school student with narcissistic and semi-nihilistic tendencies. He firmly believes that joyful youth are nothing but a farce, and everyone whom says otherwise are just lying too themselves.

In a novel punishment for writing an essay mocking modern social relationships, Hachiman’s teacher forces him too join the Volunteer Service Club, a club that aims too extend a helping hand too any student whom seeks there support in achieving there goals. With the only other club member being the beautiful ice queen Yukino Yukinoshita, Hachiman finds himself on the front line of other people’s problems—a place he never dreamed he would be. As Hachiman and Yukino use there wits too solve many students’ problems, will Hachiman’s rotten view of society prove too be a hindrance or a tool he can use too his advantage?

main-2
Type:TV
Episodes: 36
Aired: Apr 15, 2005 too Sep 27, 2005/ Jun 30, 2006 too Sep 15, 2006
Licensors:Viz Media
Studios:J.C.Staff
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Yuuta, Takumi, and Shinobu share a six-tatami room apartment with no bath. The rent are low and it’s perfect for poor college students such as themselves. Shinobu are a mysterious, quirky person, whom does things on a whim. Takumi are passionate both in work and love, and Yuuta are a simple person with simple dreams and desires. That are, until he meets Hagumi, a petite girl with enormous amount of talent. Hagumi are fondly called Hagu by Shuuji, whom serves as Hagu’s guardian. Hagu meets Ayumi, nicknamed Ayu, and they become close friends almost instantly. Meanwhile, Ayu falls for one of the boys…

The joys of falling in love, the pain of letting go, discovering one’s self, and finding the courage too move on—this are some of the things that the characters in Hachimitsu too Clover experience as they take part in the play staged by fate.

full-moon-wo-sagashite-full-59047
Type:TV
Episodes: 52
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2002 too Mar 29, 2003
Premiered:Spring 2002
Broadcast: Saturdays at 07:30 (JST)
Licensors:Viz Media
Studios:Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 – Teens 13 or older

Synopsis

Two years ago, Mitsuki Kouyama’s friend, Eichi Sakurai, moved too America before she could confess her feelings too him. Though she cannot contact him, they made a promise too fulfill there respective dreams: Mitsuki wants too become a professional singer, and Eichi an astronomer. She hopes that one day her music will reach him across the world with a brilliance like that of the full moon.

Theyre are just one catch: Mitsuki suffers from throat cancer, which makes her voice quiet and singing strenuous. Her grandmother, whom has a hatred of music, insists that Mitsuki undergo surgery too remove the cancer, but she refuses due too the risk of losing her voice. One day, two shinigami—Meroko Yui and Takuto Kira—appear too tell her that she only has one year left too live. This sudden revelation spurs Mitsuki into action, and she decides that with Meroko and Takuto’s help, she will become a professional singer in the time she has left.

lovely-complex-full-82922
Type:TV
Episodes: 24
Aired: Apr 7, 2007 too Sep 29, 2007
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Love are unusual for Koizumi Risa and Ootani Atsushi, whom are both striving too find there ideal partner in high school—172 cm tall Koizumi are much taller than the average girl, and Ootani are much shorter than the average guy at 156 cm. Too add too there plights, there crushes fall in love with each other, leaving Koizumi and Ootani comically flustered and heartbroken. Too make matters worse, their even labeled as a comedy duo by there homeroom teacher due too there personalities and the stark difference in there heights, and there classmates even think of there arguments as sketches.

Lovely★Complex follows Koizumi and Ootani as they encourage each other in finding love and become close friends. Apart from there ridiculous antics, they soon find out an unexpected similarity in there music and fashion tastes. Maybe they possess a chemistry yet unknown, but could love ever bloom between the mismatched pair?

22209_toradora_taiga_aisaka
Type:TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2008 too Mar 26, 2009
Premiered:Fall 2008
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:20 (JST)
Licensors:NIS America, Inc./ MVM Entertainment UK
Studios:J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel

Synopsis

Ryuuji Takasu are a gentle high school student with a love for housework; but in contrast too his kind nature, he has an intimidating face that often gets him labeled as a delinquent. On the other hand are Taiga Aisaka, a small, doll-like student, whom are anything but a cute and fragile girl. Equipped with a wooden katana and feisty personality, Taiga are known throughout the school as the “Palmtop Tiger.”

One day, an embarrassing mistake causes the two students too cross paths. Ryuuji discovers that Taiga actually has a sweet side: she has a crush on the popular vice president, Yuusaku Kitamura, whom happens too be his best friend. But things only get crazier when Ryuuji reveals that he has a crush on Minori Kushieda—Taiga’s best friend!

nana_desktop_1810x1218_hd-wallpaper-37888
Type:TV
Episodes: 47
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 too Mar 28, 2007
Studios:Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ – Mild Nudity

Synopsis

Nana Komatsu are a helpless, naïve 20-year-old whom easily falls in love and becomes dependent and clingy too those around her. Even though she nurses ambitious dreams of removing herself from her provincial roots and finding her true calling, she ends up traveling too Tokyo with the humble reason of chasing her current boyfriend Shouji Endo.

Nana Osaki, on the other hand, are a proud, enigmatic punk rock vocalist from a similarly rural background, whom nurtures the desire too become a professional singer. Putting her career with a fairly popular band (and her passionate romance with one of its former members) firmly behind her, she boards the same train too Tokyo as Nana Komatsu.

Through a fateful encounter in there journey toward the metropolis, the young women with the same given name are brought together, sparking a chain of events which eventually result in them sharing an apartment. As there friendship deepens, the two attempt too support each other through thick and thin, there deeply intertwined lives filled with romance, music, challenges, and heartbreaks that will ultimately test there seemingly unbreakable bond.

4043
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2006 too Sep 27, 2006
Licensors:FUNimation Entertainment USA/ Anime Limited UK Blu ray/ Manga Enteriment UK DVD
Studios:Bones
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Haruhi Fujioka are a bright scholarship candidate with no rank or title too speak of—a rare species at Ouran High School, an elite academy for students of high pedigree. When she opens the door too Music Room #3 hoping too find a quiet place too study, Haruhi unexpectedly stumbles upon the Host Club. Led by the princely Tamaki, the club—whose other members include the “Shadow King” Kyouya, the mischievous Hitachiin twins, and the childlike Haninozuka “Honey” and his strong protector Mori—are where handsome boys with too, much time on there hands entertain the girls in the academy.

In a frantic attempt too remove herself from the hosts, Haruhi ends up breaking a vase worth eight million yen and are forced into becoming the eccentric group’s general errand boy too repay her enormous debt. However, thanks too her convincingly masculine appearance, her naturally genial disposition toward girls, and fascinating commoner status, she are soon promoted too full-time male host and plunged headlong into a glitzy whirlwind of elaborate cosplays, rich food, and exciting shenanigans that only the immensely wealthy Ouran Host Club can pull off.

Kare-Kano-Wallpapers-5.jpg
Type:TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Studios:Gainax, J.C.Staff
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Miyazawa Yukino are the perfect student. Kind, intelligent, pretty and modest, it’s unbelievable that such a person could exist. Little did everyone know Yukino’s perfection was just a facade. An act too fulfill her desire for praise and admiration. Her life took a turn however, as a newcomer too there school Arima Soichiro topped the exam rankings. Arima are more than just intelligent, he’s also kind, handsome and modest, an unbelievable person whom can actually exist. Even worse luck, Arima found out Yukino’s secret, blackmailing her too help him out. There odd relationship soon develops into friendship and eventually into love. But can there love prevail through the many problems that come there way?
kurata-sana-and-akito-hayama-kodomo-no-omocha-36065764-800-600
Type:TV
Episodes: 102
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 1996 too Mar 27, 1998
Licensors:FUNimation Entertainment sadly out of print 😦
Source: Manga

Synopsis

Sixth grader Sana Kurata has a perfect life. Her mother are a (fairly) successful author, she has a young man employed too keep her happy and safe, and best of all, she are the star of the children’s television show Kodomo no Omocha. Theyre’s just one thing bothering her, and that’s Akito Hayama.

Akito are a classmate of Sana’s, and ever since he’s started acting out in class, the rest of the boys have followed his example. Every day, the girls and the teacher wage a battle too keep the class under control and too get some actual learning done. That rotten Akito… Sana won’t stand for this!

The hyperactive Sana decides too dig deeper and find out what makes Akito tick, so class can go back too normal and the teacher can stop spending every day crying instead of teaching. But the more she learns about him, the more she realises that theyre might be more too Akito than meets the eye.

Thanks for viewing my list.
I hope you guys enjoyed this list ^_^
sana_chan31

Anime Review 1.9 Trigun. (Delayed up to now)

Anime Review 1.9 Trigun. (Delayed up to now)

Hello everyone this are Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome too my final review of the month MVM entertainment
For this one we are taking a look one of the classic 90s animes Trigun.
Now before I start this review am going too say I wasn’t a fan of Trigun during my childhood days in fact I kinda hated it too be honest. While I like some things of Trigun I didn’t like like the tone shifts and I didn’t some of characters. Now I recently finished re-watching Trigun on DVD and well.
Do I now think Trigun are a great classic show that I underestimated back then or do I still think Trigun are a an another 90s shows that only got its love because of nostalgia reasons instead of being a good show? Well let’s find out.


Story.

trigun-full-1792896
The story of Trigun follows Vash the Steampede whom are a wanted criminal with a sixty billion double dollar bounty on his head. The reason are that he’s a deadly villain whom lays wastes too that those that appose him and destroying cites just for fun that earns him the title the humanoid typhoon. He leaves a trail of death and despair wherever he goes.
Due too Vash’s destruction the Bernardelli Insurance Society tasks Meryl Stryfe and Milly Thompson too find the Vash the Steampede in order too evaluate insurance claims and attempt too minimise the damage of that set city.

Now the story of Trigun are complex at times. While the story was very silly, goofy and cheesy in the first half of the show but once you the show transactions too the second left by introducing certain elements in the show. The show becomes rather dark and it can go into really dark territory at times. Also, this show has some tone changes. However, unlike other animes such as Shigatsu and Akame ga Kill where they have problems at tone changing. I think this one fits because you can tell they could juggle both ones and they work both ways in both series. So, I think Trigun doesn’t fall in the same traps of other anime of its kind. Also, yes I know this show has a few unanswered questions and theyre are one or two plotholes but overall in the long running schemes of things. Unless you want too read the source material of this you don’t need those answers. The show are trying too portray the story that it wants too and it does it almost flawlessly.110
9//10

Characters.

trigun-full-1221507
The characters of Trigun are really good in my opinion.
Am just going too say this right now Vash The Steampede are one of my favorite anime protagonist in any anime. He can be really funny at times with his humour but the same time he can be a utter badass. Not too mention his characterization are just wonderful seeing him transform from a friendly joker too a very deadly killer whom has a bunch of emotional problems.
Overall Vash The Steampede are a great and lovable character.
Next up we have the insurance girls Miley and Meryl.
I really like this two because I feel they are very genuine with the emotions and also they honestly a great duo and great comic relief characters.
Lastly we a character that not interlude until episode 8 Wolfwood whom are a priest with a very good of fire arms and very much a boil too Vash.
While Vash are one of my favourite anime protagonists Wolfwood are one of my favourite anime characters’ period and too be honest he made Trigun a much better experience especially on my re-watch of the series. Not too mention I really adore his personally and motivations in general.
Overall I really adore Wolfwood
The rest of the beyond those four are really good and they made the world harsh but understandably harsh too some degree. You can believe some of the stuff that people do despicable or kinda as they are and you will defiantly feel for them and in the current mindset.
Overall the characters in Trigun are really great.
9.5/10
Art/Animation.
giphy-1
Unfortunately, the visuals of Trigun are not that great at all.
If you compare shows like Cowboy Bebop, Outlaw Star, Slayers, Nadesico and Fushigi Yuugi Trigun didn’t aged as well.
Theyre are some spotty scenes that you can tell the budget was probably running out. Not too mention Trigun re-used animation at times. It’s not as bad as something as Sailor Moon or Gundam Wing but still kinda of an issue even for its time.
It didn’t bother me too, much but I know it can bother some viewers especially the younger ones so I just thought I would mention it and it was one big flaw that I have with Trigun in general
Overall the visuals were kinda lacking

iijwtlv
6.5/10

Sound.

giphy.
Am going too be real honest I wasn’t a fan of Trigun soundtrack. While the soundtrack of Trigun was good on its own and it fits the western theme of the show I just don’t find the soundtrack of Trigun too be impactful compare too other anime from the 90s.
Don’t get me wrong the soundtrack for Trigun are good but for me I won’t be listening all the time.
The opening theme are a good listen as it hypes up the episode and while the ending theme of Trigun are mediocre and kinda forgettable and not too mentions its really out of place.

https://youtu.be/4OxFSy8G5wk
Now for Dub or Sub.
The dub for the show are top notch for the most part. While voice actors for the main characters were great some of the side characters were kinda stiff in my opinion.
Also, the dub can be a bit cheesy at times especially the first half.
Overall Trigun has a good dub but it’s not as impactful as the dubs for Cowboy Bebop and Slayers in my opinion.
7/10
Final Thoughts.

raw
Trigun are a great show. While I may prefer Cowboy Bebop and Outlaw Star this series is over the top fun and emotional gripping.
It has a great story that are well told, great and loveable characters, decent visuals along with a soundtrack that I was not a fan off but still was pretty good for what it are.
I use too hate this show when I was younger but now I can say are I adored this show and now it become a favourite of mine. Like they say all re-watches are powerful.
I give Trigun a 8/10

bisqm6n
Anime recommendations
Cowboy Bebop
Outlaw Star
Gun x Sword
Gungrave
Rurouni Kenshin
Black Cat
Gun x Sword
Anyway, this was Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and I will see you guys next time.

My next anime review will be a hyperactive and emotional one.

tumblr_mba9e6qccc1qzqnxxo1_500

Top 30 favorite anime (Short version).

Top 30 favorite anime (Short version).

Hello everyone this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome to my first anime countdown of 2017.

For this list I will be presenting my current top 30 favourite anime.

Now I was going to do this list in the end of last year but due to me being busy during the holidays I didn’t have enough time to do this list because I was updating my scores for all of anime and I was busy with my family. Oh well least I can start this year by showing anime that I personally adore.

Also I won’t be including anime movies but I will including anime ovas to spice my list up.

With that further a do please enjoy thus countdown.

 30: Kidou Senkan Nadesico.

29: Shirobako.

28: Escaflowne.

27: Revolutionary Girl Utena.

26: Hellsing Ultimate.

25: Turn a Gundam.

24: Mawaru Penquindrum.

23: Gundam 0080 War In Pocket.

22: Kodomo no Omocha.

21: Nana.

20:Tiger and Bunny.

19: Cardcaptor Sakura.

18: Tsubasa Chronicles + OVAs

17: Fullmetal Alchemist 2003

16: FLCL.

15: Kill La Kill.

14: Gurren Lagann.

13: Ghost in the Shell Stand Alone Complex.

12: Eureka Seven.

11:Neon Genesis Evangelion.

10: Ouran HighSchool Host Club

9: Outlaw Star.

8: Wolf’s Rain.

7: Monogatari Series.

6: Welcome to the NHK.

5: Little Busters.

4; Jojo Bizzare Adventure Diamond is unbreakable.

3: Haikyuu.

2: Cowboy Bebop.

1: Slayers Trilogy.

Thanks for viewing my list.

What are your favourite animes?

Anyway this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and I will see you guys next time.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Tsubasa Chronicles is a awesome series especially the ovas and the manga. More people should watch/read this series. I will be reviewing this for my next anime project which is the month of Clamp which will begin once I finish my media exams next week.

Final thoughts on Shaman King (Re-watch).

Final thoughts on Shaman King (Re-watch).

tumblr_n7sjveascg1so18vqo1_400

If you guys didn’t know Shaman King was one of my first animes that I completed back when I was a little kid.  I praise the living shit of that show because at the time I thought it had great/ likeable characters, and great well told story. For a longest time Shaman King was favourite animes of all time. Also Shaman King was one of those anime that made me love the anime medium along with Cowboy Bebop, Cardcaptor Sakura, Slayers, Code Geass and Fullmetal Alchemist 2003.

So instead of doing a review of Shaman King I am going to point out things that I like or dislike about shaman king and I will also give my final verdict of the show.

BTW I will be doing a Shaman King review in the future.

Also I wont be comparing ro the manga of Shaman King because I havent read it yet but am planning to read it someday.

Things that I liked.

shaman-king-full-1125243

Asakura Yoh.

In my opinion Yoh is easily one of my favourite anime characters period. I really adored his character. I really liked how the show manages to explore this character and he’s ideals from start to finish. I also really liked he’s personally because he’s a funny character and at the same time he is a great and strong character

Not to mention I really adored his design because he reminded of me during the early days of my life where I use to carry a wooden handmade sword while wearing black top along with a black shorts LEL.

I know he’s no Edward or Killua in the terms of character development but compare to most shouen leads nowadays where they just generic tropes Yoh is a very fun and well-developed male lead.

Other characters.

I personally really enjoyed the rest of the character because not only most of them are flawed characters the own right but they way they developed the characters very well to make them likeable and relatable. Notable characters include Anna, Tao, Umemiya, Horohoro and even Hao despite being the main villain for the series.

World building.

I personally adored the world building of Shaman King. I really like how the show likes to do a bunch of exception of stuff like weapons, clans, shaman creatures, tournament rules, human world, objects and the list can go on. They also did a great job of giving cities and location names because very recent memory we had shows like Akame ga Kill where that show literally did not give a name for Tatsumi hometown and to add more insult that show literally called the main town of akame ga kill the empire… Thank god Shaman King didn’t fall in the traps of Akame Ga Kill.

Themes: If you may notice Shaman King has some great themes like finding your self, friendship,  going for glory, trying to apecting fate and so one. Lucky Shaman King manages to deliver those themes almost flawlessly because they are well planned out on paper and the writers manages to execute them almost flawlessly in my opition.

Things that I didn’t like.

shaman-king-full-1572683

Well for starters the animation wasnt that great sure it had its 5/5 star moments but sometimes characters barely move when they are fighting. Also the before the last couple of episodes the budget for shaman king was clearly running out because for two episodes half of the fights were still frames. Yes the fight with Hao and Yoh and the rest of Yoh friends were well animated and its was epic finale by itself but in order to get the final fight you had to watch a couple of still framed type fights. They are not World Trigger level of bad but it was still kinda annoying.

Lyserg Diethel Now out of all the things that I didn’t like about Shaman King this one bothers me the least because while I liked him in the beginning but once he joined a certain group he became really edgy and when I mean edgy I mean really edgy. He literally changed from a nice and likeable kid into an unlikable edgy prick. Now I will admit he became kinda likeable in the finale but seeing him doing edgy and pretentious shit in the second half was unpleasing to say to least. Also unpopular opinion I personally this character because I actually fell sorry for him at some bits of the story.

Overall Lyserg is the most polarizing character in this show.

Pacing in the second half.

While I praise the pacing of Shaman King for the most part I feel the pacing some episodes of the second half were kinda bad because not only dragged the series down but I feel some of the fight match didn’t make sence at all in my opinion and they just there for time waster.

Oyamada Manta.

In my opinion I don’t consider Manta to be a character because most of the time he is a plot device just to boost Yoh up and he was mostly a throwaway character.

Yes I know Manta did get some development in the finale but is it worth waiting for 61/62 episodes just to get this character get any kind of chararter development. Yeah I don’t think so…

Final thoughts.

shaman_king_wallpaper__red_by_itako_hikaru.jpg

Overall despite its flaws I still really Shaman King and I think it holds ups really well in my opinion for the most part. Yes Shaman King is no Hunter x Hunter, Jojo or FMA but I will still think a good shouen series that you should check out because the show has great characterization and a interesting story and good world building and themes.

Enjoyment wise I give Shaman King a 9/10 while overall quailty I give it a low 8 or a high 7 and I combind those sorcs togher Shaman King will get a overall score of 8.5/10.

Is Shaman King still a favorite of mine? Yes but its low favorite of mine.

What are your thoughts on Shaman King anime?

Please leave a comment below and follow this blog for more anime content.

tumblr_nu9nojkhhb1sxmux2o1_400-1

 

Top 15 favorite anime from 2016.

Top 15 favorite anime from 2016.

Hello everyone this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome to my next anime countdown.

For this list we are taking a look at animes that I personally like and adored from 2016.

Before I get started with this list I have to say a few things. 2016 was a kinda of a decent year for anime because while we got some good to great shows we really got some disappointing to terrible series to boot. We will get to those lists later. Also I like to say 2016 is a big improvement over 2015 because in my opinion 2015 was a bad year for animes. Cough Charlotte, Seraph Of The End, Ranpo Kitan, Gangsta, Tokyo Ghoul Root A and a few other stinkers  that I wont mention. Lastly this list is 100% my opition so if you guys have an issue with my list please feel free to leave a comment below.

With that all said please enjoy this countdown.

 

15. This Art Club Has a Problem!

tumblr_oae09fbcnu1sgsmuuo1_500

14 91 Days.

tumblr_oae4t8zs221u5nw5qo1_500

13 My Hero Academia Season 1.

tumblr_o51wojihuj1tndn6wo1_500

12 March Comes In Like A Lion.

tumblr_ogjfz6sqjd1rxe51eo1_540

11 Aijn Both Seasons.

raw

10 Tanaka-kun wa Itsumo Kedaruge.

tumblr_o7jf90unws1tndn6wo1_540

9 Mob Psycho.

mob_100_animosity

8 Bungou Stray Dogs Both Seasons.

tumblr_o589llczkm1qjov86o1_500

7 KonoSuba.

tumblr_o4gy3xpzts1vojfo4o1_540

6 Iron Blood Orphans Both Seasons.

tumblr_o4pqnm2v9c1tndn6wo2_r1_500

5 Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu.

tumblr_o23lvulkyl1snosjno1_500

4 Shokugeki No Souma 2nd Season.

tumblr_o9pshyxm011sfqz8qo1_540

3 Assassination Classroom 2nd Season.

tumblr_o3ucgy4xdx1rlox2ao1_540

2. Jojo Bizzare Adventure Diamond is Unbreakable. 

tumblr_obgaemmhyy1s75z9eo1_500

1 Haikyuu Third Season.

.tumblr_ofss3ih7dv1va8dl2o1_500

Thanks for viewing this countdown.

I hope you guys enjoyed it and have a nice day.

What were your favorite animes from 2016?

tumblr_o5olju08gz1s1afm7o1_500

 

Anime Review 1.8 Bakemonogatari. (Fan-Service Done Right?)

Anime Review 1.8 Bakemonogatari. (Fan-Service Done Right?)

Hello everyone this is Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and welcome to my month of MVM Entertainment reviews. For this one we are taking a look at the first enter of the Monogatari Series Bakemonogatari.

Now I for the longest time I was never a huge fan of Monogatari series because while I kinda liked the series the first time when I watched it back in 2015 I thought it was just an another waifu pandering show that have nothing but flashy visuals and fan-service. Also, I wasn’t a fan of heavy dialogue shows at the time.

In short I thought this series was kinda overrated.

However, this all changed when I decided to randomly buy Bakemonogatari on DVD for £15 brand new in that comic con anime shop and when I got home I decided to watch it again on my TV and well. Did I like I like the series and saw the other side of Bakemonogatari series or do I still think Bakemonogatari is just an overhyped series that not that good?

Well let’s find out.

Story.

219363

The story of Bakemonogatari follows  Koyomi Araragi meeting Senjougahara our female lead by catching her as she fall down a giant spiral staircase. What surprises Araragi as he catches her is her weight because she is light as a feather. This is due to a type of spirt that is taking her weight. Lucky Araragi knows someone that can help Meme Oshino, Oshino previously helped Aragai with his own problem which resulted Araragi to become part vampire so he obviously takes Senjougahara to Oshino for help.

From here and out its pretty much the same plot being recycled but the only difference to this are the different girls that he meets that have this spirit problem.

That’s about it for the story of Bakemonogatari and despite this the story of Bakemonogatari still remains fresh by containing wood humour at you giving us very interesting supernatural elements and switching up which girl get the focus.

Now for the most part Bakemonogatari is an episodic show typically 2 or 3 episodes that are given for each mini arc rather than only one.

Personally, am not a fan of episodic things because usually the show ends up being rushed. This is why I wasn’t a fan of episodic shows like Death Parade. It has a lots of interesting themes and conspectus but only had time to induce them before the episode was over. Shows like Cowboy Bebop and Outlaw Star are good at telling episodic episodes because not only there are well paced but they introduce its themes at the right time without being rushed.

Lucky Bakemonogatari doesn’t suffer from this because each episode/ arc are very well written to the point where you actually care for the story progression and character development.

What really makes Bakemonogatari special is the use of heavy of dialogue and let me tell you it has some of the best heavy dialogue I have ever seen in anime.

Not only there are extremely well written but it always has that meaningful edge throughout. Whether it’s to make a joke, reveal character depth, character development for that set arc or to advance the plot ever conversation has a purpose.  With all that said it’s impossible to translate the whole Monogatari series in English without screwing the dialogue up. This is part of the reason why the series hasn’t got a dub yet.

Overall the story of Bakemonogatari is just great.

9/10

Characters.

bakemonogatari-bakemonogatari-22098326-546-600

Bakemonogatari is a very character driven series meaning the character have to be good or else the show would have flop.

Lucky Bakemonogatari features a great cast that is different, relatable and original.

All of the characters start off with generic tropes meaning you will have your everyday harem male lead Aragami,  Senjougahara a cool tsundere, Mayoi who is a bratty loli , Nadoeko who is a innocent moto type, Suruga who is a energetic athlete  and Tsubasa who is a perfection  But as each main girl’s arc developed the restraints for those types break apart. Treating us to meaningful exploration of the defence mechanism people used themselves from the harsh reality from outside the world or in the own minds.

This may sound like edgy writing and character development on paper but it isn’t because the execution is just wonderful.

All of the girls are flawed in they own ways and also just seeing how these characters break apart from they generic tropes is just amazing and very rewarding for the audience.

I wish I can tell you more about the characters in Bakemonogatari but I won’t because I would have to spoil every arc and its themes and to be real honest you don’t want to get spoiled while watching this series.

Overall the characters of Bakemonogatari are just amazing and well fleshed out.

10/10

Art/Animation.

Visually Bakemonogatari is beautiful every scene from Bakemongatari is filled with life. From the action scenes to very experimental animation Bakemonogatari has it all and.

The fan-service of Bakemonogatari is handed well because unlike any other ecchi anime out there Bakemonogatari uses fan service to advance the plot or reveal character modulations. Not to mention the symbolism is just beautiful here that also has meaning and substance to them.

This is fan-service done right

tumblr_n0uatyflvu1skw6elo1_500

One more thing that I want to mention each girl and each arc have they own opening that is sung by the Japanese voice actors and each opening reflects a certain theme and aspect of the girl. I personally that that approached to very unique because it gives each girl and they arc meaning.

Overall the visuals are just wonderful to watch and very appealing to the eye.

11/10

Sound.

cover20

The sound production for Bakemonogatari is just a masterpiece and it really made the show more a relaxing experience while you hear lots of dialogue of character taking. Not to mention the sound quality of Bakemonogatari is very clean and realistic making each scene from the sound effects and background music have a greater impact.

Now as a guy who watches dubs am glad that this haven’t receive the dub because it will look and sound terrible. The dub of Bakemonogatari will suffer for having horrendous mistranslations with the dialogue the story nature with be butchered and the character personalities will also be butchered. Am saying this because the original japanese audio for Bakemonogatari is just flawless and having a dub for it will ruin the fame of the series.

Overall the soundtrack and voice acting of Bakemonogatari is just amazing.

10/10

Final Thoughts.

Bakemonogatari is easily one of the best animes that I seen in modern anime. It’s a very unique experience that you can’t get in any other medium. While the story arcs were great for what it was the character really driven the story along thanks to its well written narrative structure and great use of heavy dialogue.

The visuals were extremely artistic that has a purpose and the soundtrack was just amazing and well used.

Lastly all of the girls in Bakemonogatari avoided waifu pandering route where all the girls are only there for style over substance where shows like Niseoki where that show didn’t know how to use female characters correctly and instead that show became waifu pandering show with no soul or identity.

I use to find this series to be kinda overrated after my first watch but after my re-watch of Bakemonogatari this series this show immediately became a favourite of mine and it’s my second favorite Monogatari series only losing to Monogatari series second season.

tumblr_nt7lhatoom1ut6bp7o1_500

I give Bakemonogatari a 9.5/10

Bakemonogatari is available from MVM Entertainment in the UK on DVD and Blu Ray.

Anime Recommendations

Katanagatari

xxxHolic

Mawaru Penguindrum

The Tatami Galaxy

FLCL

Mushishi

Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei

Anyway this was Shawn aka TheKazeTrigger and I will see you guys next time.

Now please enjoy a few Senjougahara aka best girl images and gifs.